Thomas Hardy Seminar:   Fall 2004
Schedule of Readings and Student Reports


Wednesday, Sept. 1:
    Introduction
    Under the Greenwood Tree

Wednesday, Sept. 8
    Far from the Madding Crowd
        Student Impression Papers

Monday, Sept. 13 -- Film Viewing in Joseph Theater
    Far from the Madding Crowd -- 7:00 p.m.

Wednesday, Sept. 15
    Far from the Madding Crowd (cont.)
        Student Impression Papers
    Additional reading:  Essays in Norton Edition by:
        J. Hillis Miller (pp. 393-400)
        Michael Millgate (pp. 401-14)
        Peter J. Casagrande (pp. 448-67)
            and Chapter 2 on FFMC in Women and Sexuality in the Novels of Thomas Hardy, by Rosemarie Morgan (on reserve, pp. 30-57)
          

Wednesday, Sept. 22
    Hardy's Nature Poetry (See poetry appendix)
        Student Impression Papers

Wednesday, Sept. 29
    The Return of the Native
        Student Impression Papers

Wednesday, Oct. 6
    The Return of the Native (cont.)
       Student Impression Papers
    Additional reading:  Essays in Norton Edition by
        D. H. Lawrence (416-422)
        Donald Davidson (444-453)
           and Penny Boumelha (photocopy)

Monday, Oct. 11 -- Film Viewing in Joseph Theater
    Return of the Native -- 7:00 p.m.

Wednesday, Oct. 13:  Group Presentation:  "Hardy as Literary Critic":   Liz, Mandi, Danielle
    Selected Short Stories
        Student Impression Papers
       "The Withered Arm," "Barbara of the House of Grebe," "The Fiddler of the Reels"
        "On the Western Circuit," "The Son's Veto," "An Imaginative Woman"

Wednesday, Oct. 20:  Group Presentation:  "Hardy and Shakespeare":   Adam, Laura, Kelly
    The Mayor of Casterbridge (through chap. XXXVIII, p. 209)
        Student Impression Papers

Monday, Oct. 25 -- Film Viewing in Joseph Theater
    The Claim -- 7:00 p.m.

Wednesday, Oct. 27: 
    The Mayor of Casterbridge (cont.)    
        Student Impression Papers

   Additional reading:  Essays in Norton Edition by:
        Virginia Woolf  (pp. 324-325)
        Michael Millgate (pp. 361-66)
         Elaine Showalter (391-405)

Wednesday, Nov. 3:  Group Presentation:  "Hardy and the Visual Arts":   Molly, John, Elizabeth
    Tess of the d'Urbervilles
        Student Impression Papers
       

Monday, Nov. 8 -- Film Viewing in Joseph Theater
    Tess -- 7:00 p.m.

Wednesday, Nov. 10 -- Paper Prospectus due!!! Group Presentation:  "Hardy and Modern Film":   Chris, Kathy, Diana, Cassie
    Tess of the d'Urbervilles (cont.)
        Student Impression Papers
          

Wednesday, Nov. 17:  Working Bibliography due!!!
    Tess of the d'Urbervilles (cont.)  AND Poetry: Men and Women (See poetry appendix)
        Student Impression Papers
          

Wednesday, Dec. 1:  Draft introduction & outline due!!!
    Poetry of War & Philosophy (See poetry appendix)
        Student Impression Papers
             

Wednesday, Dec. 8
    Poetry of Last Things (See poetry appendix)
        Student Impression Papers
   

Saturday, Dec. 11:  Final Paper due!!!